Durban pic.jpg

LUM is responsible for preparing and updating existing land use schemes in terms of the relevant planning legislation. This one of the key performance areas of the branch. These land use schemes also reflect and are a translation of the overall vision of the Municipality as expressed in the Integrated Development Plan (IDP) and the Spatial Development Framework (SDF).

These land use schemes guide and control the use of land through the Municipality under the area of a scheme. The land use schemes also allow for changes to land use or development controls through development applications in terms of the applicable planning legislation.

The Land Use Management Branch (LUM) has the responsibility of receiving, processing and making recommendations or decisions on these development applications within statutory time frames.  This is the core business of this branch.

The Branch has a legal obligation to control and regulate land uses and to prosecute illegal land uses through the appropriate planning legislation. The Branch also provides comment on a variety of applications received by other departments within the Municipality requiring a development planning input.​ 

    2018 Reviewed Schemes

    Amendments to the Durban Scheme Regulations 2018​

    SPLUMA is the fundamental legislation that guides the planning at the eThekwini Municipality.  Since the enforcement of SPLUMA, the eThekwini Municipality has adopted there own Planning and Land Use Management Bylaw 2016

    2018 - 2019 Development Planning Tariffs​

    CLICK HERE to  download the 2018_19 Tarrifs as of 01 July 2018​  Please note that Tariffs shown must be ROUNDED DOWN eg. R589.84 = R589.00


    Senior Manager:     Claire Norton (Email:
    Admin Assistant:         Nqobile Nzimande (Email:​)

    Tel: 031 311 7790 


    North Regional Office
    Address: 327 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga
    Regional Co-Ordinator: Marius Taljaard
    Land Use Management Assistant: Nancy Moonsamy
    Tel: 031 311 6063
    ​Admin Assistant: Rebecca Ramsamy
    Tel: 031 311 6061                                                                                  Email:

    Outer West Regional Office                                                                                                   

    Address: 22 Delamore Road, Hillcrest                                                                                                    Regional Co-Ordinator: Rayven Moodley                                                                                              Admin Assistant: Nolwazi Ngcemu                                                                                                                                  Tel: 031 311 2696                                                                                        Email:

    Inner West Regional Office
    Address: 60 Kings Road, Pinetown
    Regional Co-Ordinator: Vivegi Chetty
    Admin Assistant: Gonnie Govender
    Tel: 031 311 6265
    Land Use Management Assistant: Nomfundo Ngubane
    Tel: 031 322 1919

    South Regional Office
    Address: 9-11 Gracedale Road, Mayors Mews, Kingsburgh
    Regional Co-Ordinator: Terence Pillay
    Land Use Management Assistants: Thandi Sishi
    Tel: 031 311 5967
    Logie Moodley
    Tel: 031 311 5984
    SOUTH LUMS COUNTER: 031 311 5833

    Central Regional Office
    Address: 166 KE Masinga Road
    Regional Co-Ordinators: 
    Sandile Sokhela (North Central Area) 
    Tel: 031 311 7185
    Eric Parker (South Central Area) 
    Tel : 031 311 7183
    Admin Assistant: Thola Mthembu
    Tel: 031 311 7097

    Central Land Use Management Assistants: 
    Zethu Madikizela (North Central Area) 
    Tel: 031 311 7309

    Bella Phillips (North Central Area)
    Tel: 031 311 7607

    Jenesha (Sharlini) Seeban (South Central Area)                                                                                        Tel 031 311 7847                                                                                    Email

    Sanelisiwe Khuzwayo (South Central South)
    Tel: 031 311 7569                                                                                                                               Email:​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

    SPLUMA Appeals Office
    1st floor, Room 117
    166 KE Masinga Road
    Contact Person:  Ms A Nkomonde
    Tel: 031 322 8269